Refractometer

General Discussion of Diary Posts and Questions on Beekeeping Matters
Bryan
Forum Regular

Refractometer

Unread post by Bryan »

I am a new beekeeper. I searched, but didn't find much information on a refractometer (other than it seems like a good idea?). I have seen them from $99.99 to almost $500 for deluxe digital models. Does anyone have an opinion on what type to get? I would rather get the proper one at the start, rather than buying another one in a year (or spending too much...)
Countryboy
Forum Regular

Re: Refractometer

Unread post by Countryboy »

I have about 75 hives. I've been keeping bees for about 8 years now.

I bought a refractometer 3 or 4 years ago. I don't think I have even used it a half dozen times. The times I did use it, it confirmed that my honey was dry enough that it wouldn't ferment.

Odds are, your local bee club (or another member) will have a refractometer that you can borrow if you really want to use one.

A good rule of thumb is to only extract frames of honey that are at least 1/2 capped. If the frame has open cells of honey or nectar, an easy way to tell if the honey is ripe enough is to hold the frame so you are looking at one side, and then give it a hard shake away from you. If it is nectar, it will fly out of the frame. If it is dry uncapped honey, a hard shake will not make it come out of the cells.

My advice is to find a mentor to help you when you extract. An experienced beekeeper will be able to tell if the honey is ripe enough to extract or not. And building a friendship with an experienced beekeeper will be worth a lot more than a $100 refractometer.

I suggest that you take the $100-$500 you were thinking on spending on a refractometer and buy things that are far more important. Buy an effective mite treatment, pollen supplement patties, and sugar to feed your bees.
B. Farmer Honey
Central Ohio
Allen Dick
Site Admin

Unread post by Allen Dick »

What he said.