Top Insulation methods.

General Discussion of Diary Posts and Questions on Beekeeping Matters
AdrianQuineyWI
Forum Regular

Top Insulation methods.

Unread post by AdrianQuineyWI »

Up until 2 weeks ago I was happily settled on my method of top insulation for the 5 over 5 frame nucs I overwinter. It is simple and cheap and I had been using it for about 4 years with no problems.
Spring, Summer, and Fall I run a piece of plastic feed bag inner cover (FBIC), and a piece of 2" thick pink Foamular 250 insulation on the top of each colony.
Winter comes and I squish the boxes together, put a piece of cardboard between the boxes to fill the gaps, Styrofoam on the ends and then cap it with a piece of plastic to keep the worst of the winds out.
http://i1110.photobucket.com/albums/h45 ... m1bn9x.jpg
All was well. The only thing I changed this year was to make sure each box tipped forward very slightly in order to drain out thawing ice that may build up.
At each of my 2 sites a mouse has found its way up and eaten down into the nuc from the top.

This leads me to conclude that for 3 seasons the system will work, but for next winter I will need to do something different. For next winter I am thinking about putting a flat plywood migratory board on top of each nuc when they get squished together in the winter and then running a length of insulation pillow over each group of hives.

I see in some photos that Allen used to use make insulation pillows and I wonder what kept the mice out? Did the mice attempt to make inroads from the top? Any thoughts,suggestions, and links are welcome. Especially from the North.

Thanks.
Allen Dick
Site Admin

Re: Top Insulation methods.

Unread post by Allen Dick »

This leads me to conclude that for 3 seasons the system will work, but for next winter I will need to do something different.