Open the Border, He Says!

General Discussion of Diary Posts and Questions on Beekeeping Matters
Allen Dick
Site Admin

Open the Border, He Says!

Unread post by Allen Dick »

I made some comments about motions passed at the ABC AGM earlier and received the following comments via a web form, and commented in the diary.

I have very limited interest in this matter since I am a hobbyist at this point and opening the border actually works against my personal interests. I am just amazed at the stupidity and injustice of the embargo and feel a little duped for having supported a temporary closure in the first place.

If we knew then what we know now, we never would have acceded

Anyhow, here is the first letter for comment.
---

Hi Allen,

...I read your post from a few days ago regarding the resolutions brought forward at the recent Alberta beekeepers AGM. I was hesitant voting against them, but learned others were also thinking an open border to US package bees might not be the best option.

I never ran bees pre 1987, and admit I am envious of a time when one could dump a package, install a queen and wait for a honey crop. But I don't believe those days would return even with access to US packages. Varroa, tracheal, SHB have changed the landscape of be health across the continent.

CFIA has done the risk assessment (more than once I believe) and the major concerns are SHB, Africanized bees, resistant AFB and Apivar resistant varroa.

One could argue SHB already exists in Canada and that it is of little consequence to hives in a northern dry climate. I fear that bringing in thousands of packages will allow it to go from being in a few pockets to widespread in a matter of months. And although it doesn't seem to be a problem in the colder northern US, we all know these things constantly evolve. I know SHB thrives in colonies with weaker populations. Just like a lot of what comes through winter in Alberta.